Community Church of Sebastopol

United Church of Christ

Come and Find the Quiet Center

1000 Gravenstein Hwy North           707.823.2484

Church Officers

  • Moderator: Nancy Shimetz
  • Vice Moderator: Patty Raney
  • Clerk: Barbara Deedler

Church Boards and Committees

Adult Ed

Gail Thomas, Adult Ed coordinator. Adult Education considers themselves a 'virtual' committee as most of their meetings and decisions happen via email.

Apple Pies

Kathy Bell and Kathy Matthies co-chair our Apple Pies Event, held the 2nd weekend in August, as we prepare hundreds of Gravenstein apple pies for the Gravenstein Apple Fair. This is our biggest fundraiser of the year, will all funds going towards our youth summer camp scholarship fund.

Chilredn's Ministry Team

Lead by Rev. Rachel Knuth, meets quarterly with the Christian Education Committee to plan the Sunday School curriculum and prepare for special events. Committee members include: Brooke Bell, Sheina Curtis, Kristen DelMonte, Terri Harper and Leslie Wood. Click here to see more information on the Sunday School programs.

Church Council

We are developing a new "Governance Model" that provides the flexibility and transparency that we all felt was essential as we move forward to pursue our future objectives. More information on our Governance Model can be found here. Our Moderator for 2018 is Nancy Shimetz.

Kindred Support Groups

Jane Huneke coordinates our Kindred Support Team, along with group leaders for geographic areas of our membership. Have questions or need more information? Contact the church office.


If you ever have anything you would like to have presented before the Church Council, or have any concerns about the church, we have three Members-at-Large that can help. Contact: Marian McDonald, Marna McKenzie or Roger Wilson.

Any of these members will be able to provide the help you need, or direct you to the person or committee that can assist you.

Memorial & Endowment

Memorial & Endowment income is used for extraordinary expenses, worthwhile projects and to enhance the missions of our church. The Memorial & Endowment committee meets on an as needed basis to consider grant requests. Click here for more information on Memorial & Endowment funds and how to apply for a grant.

Mission & Outreach

Our Mission & Outreach team has spearheaded a number of services that members of the Community Church have continued to provide through their volunteer efforts and donations. Become part of something big and join the Mission & Outreach team.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating committee will meet several times towards the end of the year to bring together a list of potential candidates for our boards and committees, as well as our church officers.

Personnel Committee

Personnel committee members include: Gary Bachelor, Pat Furber, Marge Holland, Christ Jenkins, and Becky Wessling.

Board of Trustees

Lisa Dawson is the chair of the Board of Trustees, generally meeting on the 3rd Wednesday of the month at 7 pm. Members include: Terry Beck, Kim Buckman, Steve Bradley, John Henel, Larry Stallings and Tom Terry.

Youth Committee

The Youth committee meets to plan a multitude of events that involve our youth - from the Easter Egg Hunt to the special Advent Event & Luncheon. Members include: Kathy Bell, Catie Carciere, Rebecca Emerson, Ross Galleto, Debbie McCallum and Stuart Mitchel.